eustilly's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Freedom to Drink Mexican Beer

I have this "Demotivators" calendar that I adore. It's simply fabulous. It makes fun of those horrible inspirational posters you see in offices. February had this picture of a man jogging behind a woman, with a lovely sunset in the background. It had the word "PERSISTANCE" in big font and under it read, "Get over it man. It's over. Let her go." See? Hilarious!There's one with a picture of McDonald's french fries with the word "POTENTIAL"-- "Not everyone can be an astronaut when the grow up." Pretty picture of a rainbow? "DREAMS"-- "Dreams are like rainbows. Only idiots chase them." You get the idea, right?

I see this as a very important conversation piece. I have businessmen come in here all the time and I consider it a good test to see how they react. Some kind of look at it and "hmph." Some give a slanted smile. Very few people look at that and laugh their asses of like they should. How uptight and old-fashioned can you be to not think those are funny? I guess the "RETIREMENT" one hits too near to home for the older ones. (Picture of a VERY short pencil that reads, "Because you've given so much of yourself to the company that you don't have anything left we can use." Why can they just not laugh?

This past weekend, as I mentioned before, was spectacular. Friday found me hanging with G&D at their new house in Helena/Pelham. It's beautiful! We watched this movie called Session 9. I heard it was really freaky and scary. Well, they got the freak part right. It had its merits, but mostly it was a failed excuse for horror. I used to not mind movies with WTF?!? endings, but this one pushed me over the limits. I want answers, dammit!

Saturday, sweet Saturday. I was on my way for adventure! Little did I know adventure = 1.5 hour detour!!! Why? Because I am stupid. Some background info: Dusty invited me to come see him for the 4th. I was all about it. I was going on a roadtrip by myself for the first time in a very long time. I have driven BHM to ATL on several occasions, but this time I was distracted by the things I forgot to bring-- deodorant, extra undies, camera, etc. (I was wondering why packing for this trip was so incredibly easy....) In the midst of my deep thinking, I missed the turnoff to I-20 E. Instead, I kept on I-59 N for an hour and a half. I guess I really hated that I forgot my deodorant. I finally arrive at around 7:30 Eastern time. Dusty was already at his friends' house, so I met him there. I had missed the barbecue and was hungry, so after drinking a beer and chatting for awhile, we went to get me some food. Skip ahead to the fun stuff --> we're at Dad's Garage, an improv theater that he used to perform at some. We caught the "Improv Sports" thing where two teams of 3-4 people battle each other in games of improv wit and hilarity. We had such a great time. Dusty got to judge and I volunteered for one of the audience participation skits. I think I was funny-- at least, I heard laughter. Was my fly down or did they like the hamster comment? When he asked me what I wanted to do next, I told him to take me to his favorite bar. Atkin's Park, anyone? It's swell! Being the old tired boring people we are, we retired shortly afterwards and went home for some R&R.

Sunday? Had people over, watched the fireworks, was the 7th wheel yet again. Eh, what can you do? We did have some fun with those sparklers, though! Whoa, that sounded dirty.

I am tired and am going to sleep. Wish I had Diaryland access at work again.

P.S. Art is being an ass...again. Glad I ended things with him.

9:42 pm - 07.08.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aloka
bunnymonkey
tsarina
pancakeland
gargy
ergoatlas
porktornado
augustdreams
junipersday
raven72d
giggle-junky
squirrelx
third-wheel
symbiotic
ninabean
cuillin
daath
lasestrellas
w-a-n-t-e-d
just-m
recipebook
incredipete
kristintracy