eustilly's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Celery: Public Enemy #1

I'm craving celery today. I don't even like celery. Am I pregnant with the antichrist or something? Maybe it's not so much the taste of celery I crave, but the crunch factor. It makes a nice sound. The only solution I came up with was to go to Bruno's and get a party platter of vegetables. Surely they have a smaller version, right? Wrong. I am now munching on $13.99 worth of radishes, broccoli, celery, carrots, and cherry tomatoes. w00t.

Why would do people consciously consume celery, the vegetable with one of the highest toxicity rates? Seriously, you know that's why fruits and vegetables bruise on their own, right?
- Celery harbors toxins that may sensitize us to sunlight and damage our immune systems. (Highest levels occur in celery that has brownish patches, which indicate a fungal disease called pink rot.) source
- Typically, 10-15% of the dry matter in plants are toxins designed to minimize predation. After all, what else can a plant do to prevent it? Insects that prey on plants typically avoid the toxins (ex. aphids) by various routes or are able to detoxify the toxins, but usually only from one plant or closely related species. This is why for many caterpillars the food plant is an important diagnostic. Humans (like many monkeys) operate with an enhanced detoxification system, and eat plants widely so that no individual plant is eaten in enough quantity to become significantly toxic. It is important to bear in mind that most plant toxins have never been tested for safety, and the few that have been are particularly nasty and fall seriously short of the safety requirements required for man made pesticides. source

And yet, there are some diets out there who say to eat these kind of dangerous vegetables (oh yes, my friend, celery is not alone!) because they apparently cleanse the fluids from your body. Isn't that a bit contradictory? If you're feeling invincible, and you'd like to break up any cellulite via the Anne Collins diet, click here!

Okay, enough with the science classes. I've had a good week. I went home this past weekend, where we went swimming, got some sun, and did some light shopping. It's good to be home with my mom. My dad was in PA visiting his bro, so I got to sleep in her bed with my cat, who is still not welcome in the eyes of the family cat, Buddy. Saturday night, Jenn and I went to Sinclair's where I had teriyaki chicken wings and portabella mushroom stuff with tomatoes and feta. Wash it down with a vodka tonic, and you have yourself a nasty combination. But hey, that's why you eat them in individual bites. No mixing until it hits the stomach, yo! We then went to my sister's house where we watched Ju-On: The Grudge. You might have seen previews for the Sarah Michelle Gellar/Americanized version of this that is due out in October. We watched the original Japanese version. If you liked The Ring, see this one. (FYI: The Japs do everything better when it comes to movie versions. In fact, why not catch The Eye, their version of Sixth Sense?) Weekend results: three new pairs of shoes, Clinique makeup, slight sunburn, and fresh bite marks from Chewbacca.

We are apparently at the threshold of Monday night football. Dave's was pretty jumpin' and one of my tables offered to let me go in on their pool. Come back when the Pats play the Colts, fellas. I'll bet a ten spot. I made $70 that night, and I only had 6 tables. You do the math. Seriously, don't make me do everything for you. On the way home that night, I met some of my neighbors at the fire station. In fact, one got my phone number. Oh yeah. We went to lunch yesterday, and even though his neck is slightly red-ish pink with his big diesel truck and accent, he's quite a gentleman. And despite the fact that I typically lust for tall men with dark features, I've been breaking that trend as of late. So, if you're about my height, blond hair, blue eyes, with a shaved head, and a Libra, I apparently like you. Or you like me enough for the both of us. Guys either don't call you or call too much. Where is my happy medium?

My little crush on the delivery boy at Dave's is coming to an end, mainly because his last night is Friday. I don't want to date him because he's only 19, and I'm not even sure I want to kiss him. I just want to look at him. He, too, is short-ish with blond/brown hair and...eyes. Hell, what color are his eyes? His birthday was the 4th of July, so...phew, not a Libra, but a Cancer. I was getting freaked out for a minute there.

I found me a subject for my photography. It's my coworker. He's very pretty and an actor and gay, so he should be oodles of fun to work with. He thinks he takes bad pics, so I am determined to prove him wrong. Did I mention he's very pretty? He's like a shiny new quarter, like the one with the tree on it. Connecticut? I think so. I told him I'd like to pet him. He obliged me. :)

I am curious about meteorology, the temperature aspect in particular. I know the thermometer measures the temp, and that sure is a handy tool and all, but how do they get the "feels like" temp? Does some scientist measure the actual temp and say, "Hmm. It's 87�F. But, if memory serves me well, it 'feels' like it did last Tuesday when it was 90�F�." So they email weather.com their report for the day: "Temp: 87�F. Feels like: 90�F." Ah, truly that is scientific.

Up next for this weekend (too many options!):
- Bass fishing expo with Jenn?
- Photo shoot with coworker
- Work Friday 5-9
- Ours show in Nashville?
- go see Steadman re: selling my photographs
- spice up some dull old t-shirts (yay for Arts & Crafts!)
- go see a movie. Don't care which-- just want to go.� It's been awhile since I've had good popcorn.

9:33 am - 08.12.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aloka
bunnymonkey
tsarina
pancakeland
gargy
ergoatlas
porktornado
augustdreams
junipersday
raven72d
giggle-junky
squirrelx
third-wheel
symbiotic
ninabean
cuillin
daath
lasestrellas
w-a-n-t-e-d
just-m
recipebook
incredipete
kristintracy