eustilly's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get funky! You know, like a monkey.

I don't know what you might have heard, but staying up till 1:30am on a Sunday night to watch Lucas is NOT a good idea. I think the main reason is that, if placed on a hanging Roberval scale, a young Corey Haim will not outweight the need for sleep. Secondary reasons would include such points as:
1. You can see a half-naked Charlie Sheen at anytime.
2. Want to see a cute Courtney Thorne-Smith movie? Wait for Summer School to come on again during "normal people" hours.
3. Nerds who save the day are not as heart-warming as they used to be when you were a nerd. That's right, kid. The only thing you did was receive Swirlies.
4. Locusts, while cool, are, in fact, not. Think about that one.

You know what is worth staying up for? Funk Fest 2004. Saturday found me on the open road heading to Atlanta for rendezvous #2 with Dusty. I swear-- he's lucky he's such a good kisser. Otherwise, I would have stayed home. ;) Ha, I kid! I think it's safe to say that everyone had a fabulous time. I met the lovely Samantha, the timeless Squirrely Dave, and the oh-so-delicious Skank Sinatra. We all got funked up. Check out the proof! See if you can spot me on page 2 and 4! It was, in a word, slammin'.They hired break dancers to come in, an awesome DJ who played strictly funk and Hip-Hop-- none of that Montel Jordan shit. Inside was a great band that played a lot of Marvin Gaye. Ooooohhh yeeeeaaahhhh.

You know, every one has those 3-4 songs that when you hear them, dancing must commence. The first one is "In Your Eyes" by Peter Gabriel. The second is Marvin Gaye's "Let's Get It On." There are a couple more, but let's stop at #2. It came on. I danced not. Fellas, this is a crime. If your girl wants to dance when one of her 3-4 songs come on, you suck up the pride/ego/whatever your deal is and do it. It's the least you can do.

My friends at work, Heather and Aaron, are BOTH leaving. Heather is going to NC so that her daughter can go to this dream school, and Aaron is leaving to run a company. Did I mention he's my age, even younger by 2 months? Bastard. I hate him. At least this will make me suddenly way more valuable to the company, what with my one-year evaluation coming up. I also discovered that my apartment lease is now available for month-to-month for the same price. w00t.

I like to think that I run my life by signs. Signs point me in every direction on a daily basis. These days, all signs are pointing at me to get the hell out of Dodge. My friends are all leaving and/or coupling, or they're complete bitches right now, my apartment lease is up at anytime I desire, and my job sucks. Well, it's not that bad, but it's not career-worthy. But since I may be making more money, maybe I should stay here, get a better apartment, earn a better salary, and save up for that magical trip to Spain. I think since my career life is what I am focusing the most on right now, I will let it be the deciding factor. Where ever I get the job is where I will go. Orlando, Atlanta, Los Angeles...we shall see.

I know most people don't appreciate the good things in front of them, like lovers. We become blind to the little things they do for us, like telling us we look nice or warming up the car for us on a cold morning. So when someone spend their entire night trying to make yours better, you best pay attention because that doesn't come around too often. And, as usual, the Golden Rule always applies. "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." I'm not saying follow it to the point where you literally keep score on whose turn it is to call who, and who owes who whatever, but you need to be considerate.

Class dismissed.

10:06 pm - 08.04.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aloka
bunnymonkey
tsarina
pancakeland
gargy
ergoatlas
porktornado
augustdreams
junipersday
raven72d
giggle-junky
squirrelx
third-wheel
symbiotic
ninabean
cuillin
daath
lasestrellas
w-a-n-t-e-d
just-m
recipebook
incredipete
kristintracy