eustilly's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Panty-twisting Satan of Life

Back from California! I see I have some fan mail to answer. Okay, one from augustdreams, but that one counts as a thousand in my book! I will get to [all of] your question(s) in the next entry or two. In the meantime...

Let me tell you a funny (read, sob) story while I try to work this sinus headache out of my system. This is an email I had written for Macabee, but never sent:

I was so wrapped up in the mom thing that I had forgotten dress night was tonight. Then she (Mom) canceled yesterday, and a dinner invite from Garrett and Danitza presented itself. I had wanted Danitza to meet Art so they can have a little Spanish conversation, so we were going to go to Guadalajara's for the "two for one" dinner deal. Art, like the forgetful person he is, had to cancel because he had an electrician coming over. And if I didn't have a "twofer" for dinner, I wasn't going to go. So, I said, "Okay, TV night it is." (I'm seeing G&D tomorrow night anyway, so no big deal, right?)

Then I get a wonderful email from a lovely little macabee. I get all excited! As I'm writing an enthusiastic response, Art calls me asking me to come over tonight. I think he could actually hear the confusion written on my face.
"Um, Art, what about the electrician?"
"Oh, he'll be done by about 5 or 6."
"So...you somehow couldn't make it to a dinner that is usually held around 6 or 6:30?"
"I didn't even think about that. Let's go to dinner then! Have you canceled with them already?"
"Well, I never made a solid commitment in the first place (for this very reason), so no, I haven't. But I am in the midst of making plans as we speak."
"Oh, well, just let me know what you want to do. I feel bad about canceling."
"I'm not mad, but Saturday night you said you hate disappointing me, and you've done just that 4 times since I've gotten back. I know you don't mean to, but it's kind of ironic. Or rather, hypocritical...?"

So yeah, kind of funny how he hates to disappoint me but he keeps forgetting his plans and ends up canceling with me most of the time. Seems like if I'm double-booked, I somehow manage to squeeze him in. I thought about how we're still going slow, and how I feel like we should still keep separate lives and all that. So now, I will just have to "cancel" on him. I need to prominently keep a "girl power" element within me. I need a girl's night-- drinks, dinner, the whole shebang. Or, as William Hung would say, "She bangs!" Ha!

You know, I hate that I just told you (Macabee) all this. I don't want you to hear me bitch about him before you've met him. It does disappoint me when he cancels, but I know he doesn't do it on purpose. And since we're not bf/gf yet, he's right to not drop everything that he NEEDS to do in order to hang out with me. I, in turn, just need to do the same. You know how I always try to please everyone and spread myself thin so that I get to see everyone quasi-regularly? Well, even though technically I will see you all day on Saturday, I think I'm in dire need of a double does of Macabee this week! I haven't seen you in weeks it seems.

The email ended there. But oh, the plot thickens. Just as I was about to send the above email to Mac, she writes back saying that they may not have room for me in their dinner reservation. Guess she didn't expect me to say yes. Anywho, I'm quickly rethinking my plan to cancel with everyone else when she writes back to say that reservations were not made so it's all good. Game on!

At this point, I'm on the phone with my mom, complaining about my lack of decision-making skills. She gave this gift to me, so now she has to suffer. Garrett beeps in to see if I'm still going with them. I said that Art canceled and then uncanceled, causing me to say "fuck it" to the whole twofer plan since I'll be seeing G&D tomorrow. Then G says, "Well, Sean is coming too, but his twofer canceled, so you could be his." Finally, the moment when I am NOT a third wheel around G&D, and I have just turned it down. What kind of sadistic fuck is messing with my life here? Satan, stop twisting my panties! So my options are:
a.) Girls night
b.) Dinner with G&D and Art
c.) Dinner with G&D and Sean, who I think I met once
d.) Hang out at Art's place
e.) Stay at home and watch "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe"
Since B and D can happen any week, and I don't recall all involved parties with C, and because E is for wussies, I have decided to stick to my guns and go with A. I haven't had a girls� night out in awhile. I need to feel single, pretty, and fun. And even if I am not that tight with Sus and Bec, I am determined to make it a fun time, and maybe get to know them better.

Sorry, Art, wait your turn. Sorry G&D, but Sean must have a turn at being wheel #3 for once. Sorry futon, my ass will be planted in a lovely chair at Bottega's tonight. ("Screw you guys...I'm-a going home.")

4:38 pm - 03.24.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aloka
bunnymonkey
tsarina
pancakeland
gargy
ergoatlas
porktornado
augustdreams
junipersday
raven72d
giggle-junky
squirrelx
third-wheel
symbiotic
ninabean
cuillin
daath
lasestrellas
w-a-n-t-e-d
just-m
recipebook
incredipete
kristintracy