eustilly's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'd like to thank the Academy of T&A for this great privilege.

Wednesday was my friend Garrett's birthday. As suspected, it was a total couple's party. Thank God beer makes you forget all that, or at least makes it more bearable. I had a good enough time, but just remember one key point-- spicy Peruvian food + "beer before liquor" is not your friend. I don't care what kind of compliments it gives you, or how many times it babysits your cat while you're out of town. That combination hates you! Just say no! I was very proud of myself for swallowing my pride (and my bile-tasting saliva) and sleeping on their air mattress instead of trying to drive home. Go me!

My friend at work, Joel, turns 30 tomorrow. His wife, Leslie, figured this would be the perfect birthday to really surprise him, so last night she threw him a party. Boy was he surprised. His brother had taken him to Atlanta for a music lesson from one of the top professors at a music school there, and Joel was so excited he took three different guitars. (He loved the gift, but apparently didn't like hearing he can't play as well as he thought. Truth hurts, no?) They were late getting back to his house, so by the time they arrvied, we had already tapped the keg. The birthday boy was totally surprised and we all had a great time.

There is also this guy that they have been trying to set me up with for awhile now. His name is Linc. (How neat!) The minute he walked in I kind of knew it was him. Probably because he was the only dude by himself. Yeah, I am sad to report that despite the fun that was had last night, it, too, was a couple's party. But it was all good. In fact, at one point Joel just pinched my ass in front of everyone. I had no problem with it because it's Joel and he is happily married and a good buddy of mine. But he did do it in front of his wife and everyone and God, so I was kind of scared that people would take it the wrong way. But everyone was drunk and flirty with everyone else, so there was a lot of Spanish handshakes and a lot more ass-grabbing going on as the evening progressed.

I think the high point was when Scott, their friend from Kansas City, yelled at me from across the patio:

"Hey, girl in the blue shirt. What's your name again?"
"Oh my gosh, you guessed it. It's 'girl in the blue shirt!'"
"No, seriously. I forgot."
"It's Natalie, Scott."
"Cool, you remembered mine. Okay, Natalie, you get the award for best breasts of the evening! Everyone, give her a hand!"
And of course, the drunks all gave me a hand.
"Gee, thanks. I'd like to thank my mother, even though she is flat as a board and contributed nothing to my award-winning rack...."
Random dude next to me: "Whoa, really? Where did you those genes from then?"
"Well, I'm not wearing any jeans, but I think I got the boobs from a grandmother or someone else on my dad's side."

Luckily, the attention got drawn away to the girl who received the "best ass" award. I guess our awards paid off, because she hooked up with the only other single guy at the party. Mike gets the best ass, Linc got the best breasts. Although I think the fact that we were four single people was the real reason we ended up pairing off. It was math that put us together-- not awards.

Thirty minutes later, Linc and I stepped outside again and joined the conversation circle. The guy who nomianted my boobs turned to us and said, "Oh, here she is. Ladies and gentlemen-- I give you the best breasts of the evening. Come on darling, do a turn for us and show those babies off." He actually grabbed my hand and pulled me into the middle of the circle. Geez. I'm glad I was drunk and didn't carry out my plan to slap him. I mean, I was flattered, but it was just a tad over the top. I was actually kind of embarrassed. How odd.

It got even more desperate. When people started to leave, they forced us to leave in couples. Linc said he was leaving and I had thought I'd have him walk me down the street to my car anyway for safety's sake, but the other guests literally forced me out the door. I think I said bye to Joel and Leslie. I hope I did.

Linc is a nice guy, but I don't think he'll call or anything. It's a shame because we have a lot in common and we could have a lot of fun together going rock climbing and whatnot. But guys have this problem with calling girls the next day when they met under drunken circumstances. Big shame. I wish I knew what goes through his and every other male's heads, because it doesn't make sense. Maybe he felt stupid when he woke up today and said to himself, "I spent the entire night talking to this cool chick, she won the best breasts award, and she likes photography as much as I do. Then I had to go and say I wanted to have kids one day, right after she said her maternal instinct was extinct. Man, what a doofus! I think I'll turn my cellphone off so when she calls me about our plans to go to the driving range today, I can honestly say I didn't get her message until it was too late. Yeah, perfect plan." Dork. And if one more person tells me "I can't believe a great girl like you is single" it will be their last words ever spoken. Seriously buddy. If you're that baffled, go ask the guy what the problem is. In fact, report back to me so I'll not what the deal is.

Ah, another one bites the dust. I could be judging too early, but as Johnny Cochrane would say, "Let the record reflect."

Question: shouldn't you want to be in a relationship because you want to settle down with someone and not because every party you go to is with couples? Is that what makes you feel ready or is it in your blood? Nature or nurture? I think I want a boyfriend. But I don't just want anyone. If I could have a relationship right now, I can think of only one person to have one with. And he's not here.

Que ser�, ser�.

12:25 pm - 07.25.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

aloka
bunnymonkey
tsarina
pancakeland
gargy
ergoatlas
porktornado
augustdreams
junipersday
raven72d
giggle-junky
squirrelx
third-wheel
symbiotic
ninabean
cuillin
daath
lasestrellas
w-a-n-t-e-d
just-m
recipebook
incredipete
kristintracy